Tons of specials all the time.Finest Quality Indian SnuffsToque Snuffs

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google Sign In with OpenID

Please consider helping to support the Snuffhouse forum.

Odens and Siberia by the roll.

Mr Snuff issue - this happen to anyone else?

HitsuzenHitsuzen Administrator, Moderator
So I ordered my first wooden snuffbox and it came in the other day. I was pretty excited about it until I opened the box... it was the wrong one. I contacted customer service (which is usually EXCEPTIONAL, I just want to say) to see if there was a mishap. A representative (not Andrea, who I have alot of respect for) got back to me saying that actual designs may vary, that it's noted on the page, and I'm basically out of luck. I am NOT putting this out to bash on @MrSnuff at all, I just honestly can't find anywhere on the page that mentions design variations. In fact, in the description, it says "inlay shown in image above". The box I received is beautiful, it's just not the one I ordered. Now, to the reason I posted this here, I only have internet on my Android. I've pulled it up on both mobile and desktop versions, but I still can't find anything about design variations. Can any of my PC using brothers take a look for me? Has anyone else had this issue? Here's the link. Thanks.


  • @Hitsuzen - Nope, you seem to be correct; the above is what is says on the website. Is it a completely different design or are the colours just different. The reason I ask is that I guess the colours could vary slightly as wood is a natural product isn't it?  
  • HitsuzenHitsuzen Administrator, Moderator
    @MisterPaul Nope, completely different box. Only thing in common were the dimensions and the heartwood. A shade darker and a completely different inlay. I responded to customer service yesterday, no response today.
  • edited August 2015 PM
    I order a 2x2x 3/4 box it was different than picture, I wasn't too concerned ,the one i got i liked better . But I see your point there is no where on that page that said anything about inlay may vary 

    Heartwood Padauk w Inlay 3in Snuffbox

    This beautiful hand made snuff box features a gorgeous inlay. Great to add to any snuffer's collectibles. 

    This box is 2" x 3" x 1/2" with Maple inlay. Inlay shown in picture. Crafted in the USA to the highest standards. Tight seal; smooth but no leaks. Perfect for snuff.

    My knowledge is worthless if not shared and applied . "Joseph McKenna"  
  • HitsuzenHitsuzen Administrator, Moderator
    @basement_shaman so it definitely isn't just me then. Okay. The box I received is beautiful, but just not the specific one I thought I was ordering. I think what bothers me most is the single "SOL" message I got back from customer service, with no answers to any subsequent replies on my part. My experience with customer service @MrSnuff has always been so fantastic in the past... but this blows my mind.
  • MrSnuffMrSnuff Administrator
    @Hitsuzen I will look into this and get back to you.

    I know that the problem in the past is that Heartwood send us random inlays and because we are operating remotely (ie the warehouse being in Ireland) we are unable to photograph every box and post them as separate items. It is far from ideal.

    What I will try to do is next order we specifically request one or two types of inlay and just sell those. That way what you see is what you get.

    At this point all we can do I suspect is refund your money and then make sure the descriptions really do say inlays may vary so there are no surprises.

    As for Andrea, unfortunately she is no longer with us. Jaime is the new customer service point of contact. I am not sure why you have not received a response because she is truly excellent. Again i will find out.

    Sorry for the hassle.

  • Hi Chris,

    I hope this message finds you well.

    Please excuse the redundancy, I wanted to be certain to reach you and have sent this message to your email as well.

    First, let me say thank you for your order. And second, let me apologize if you in any way felt that I was not helpful when you contacted us by phone regarding your Heartwood box. It was my complete misunderstanding that you were not pleased with the version of the Heartwood box you received, and had I known you were not 100% satisfied with your delivery I would have offered to send out a replacement. Or failing that, a refund.

    This is why I am contacting you now, in fact. To offer you a replacement if you would like, or if not, please let me know and we can issue you a refund. It would be my pleasure, I will help in any way I can.

    Also, I must apologize if you had attempted to contact us via email and I had not responded. It seems we may be having some trouble with receiving emails from people's personal accounts. If you had sent it with a gmail/hotmail/etc account (and through your Mr Snuff account or website) we have been missing those mails.

    We endeavor to have this problem fixed very quickly. In the interim please let me know how we can sort out your Heartwood box issue.

    You can email or call me anytime.

    Thanks in advance and best regards,

  • Thanks, Dave; good bye Andrea, welcome Jamie. You going to have a handy adlink on the left gutter?
  • HitsuzenHitsuzen Administrator, Moderator
    @Jaimie @MrSnuff Yes, I received the notification, thank you! I replied via the MrSnuff feedback button, so if that doesn't come through, just let me know. I have to apologize, I had no idea your email engine was glitching. I thought I was just being ignored, which blew my mind because my experience with your customer service has always been so excellent. Thank you again, now and in the future. I am officially a happy camper :D
  • Banjo777Banjo777 Member
    edited August 2015 PM
    Did I miss the group hug????? Damn it..... I always miss the group hug!
  • HitsuzenHitsuzen Administrator, Moderator
    @Banjo777 Aww come here, big fella!
  • HitsuzenHitsuzen Administrator, Moderator
    A quick update, in case anyone was still interested. This was an email from Jaime, MSs new CS rep.

    "Hi Chris,

    I am very glad to hear back from you, and no need to apologize at all!
    Thanks for being so understanding about the whole thing.

    I have just refunded your Mr Snuff account with 2000 points ($20) for the
    value of the incorrect box."

    I was quick to judge. Harmony has been restored to the universe. Thanks @Jaime for making this customer a happy one! Now, what to order next?
  • I can feel the love!
  • That @MrSnuff and his team are truly a class act! Hooray for happy endings. <:-P
  • +1 to

    It's always been a pleasure doing business with them.

Sign In or Register to comment.