Finest Quality Indian Snuffs

Best selection of snuff and snuff related products in the UK.Toque Snuffs

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google Sign In with OpenID

Please consider helping to support the Snuffhouse forum.

Worldwide distributor of the finest in snuff, chew, RYO, pipe, accessories and much more.

Possible to keep SWS at room temp ?

Im looking forward to receiving my first order of Sir Walter Scotts and was reading how there is a possibility for mold to grow if not kept in a refridgerator , but I was also reading mixed results from people who keep it in an airtight jar in room temperature without getting mold. Any tips to successfully do this? I can refrigerate but would prefer not to if possible. Im also ordering a few other snuffs that have high mositure like F&T and Gawith Hoggarth, do these need to be stored the same way as SWS?
Thanks for any help, im very new to this

Comments

• SammyD13SammyD13 Member
    edited November 10 PM
    I have never had a problem with SWS molding, but if you can store them in the fridge, I would mainly just do the moister ones. Also never pinch directly from the tin. We all have a few mold spores on our skin- they are everywhere.
  • Which SWS? Golden Horn, Havana Toast & St James Parish can be stored at room temp but in my experience Roselin, Anson Imperial, Moro Moro and Creme de Figue should be refrigerated.

I had a 50g Creme de Figue with ~30g left that had never been out of the fridge except to decant. After 6 months the jar was mostly white inside from all the mold (still in fridge).

Scent on my Anson Imperial quickly deteriorated and became musty a week or two after I tried keeping it at room temp (still no visible mold a couple months later, but I think it'll get binned regardless and is otherwise one of my single favorite snuffs)